top of page
Featured Posts

To lash or not to lash?

I had been thinking was there anything I could write about. Then I had a few enquirers about what type of lashes I stock or what I recommend.

So I have thought to myself sure why not do a little blog post about what lashes I currently stock and sure if there are any lashes you would like to see me stock let me know!

But first let’s chat about having lashes applied. In my experience ladies often shy away from having lashes applied as they not want to look over done or find strip lashes too heavy. Well I am glad to say there are lots of options available and a few correctly applied lashes can really make all the difference with opening up those peepers!

Lashes are applied to your lash line using glue. In my experience some find this a little daunting, as your makeup artist I am getting quite close. If you are some one who is a little nervous having lashes applied, come in and we will have a chat and I can talk you through the experience.

1. Individual lashes:

These little beauties come in a variety of lengths and styles. They can be used to add to your own natural lashes or create more drama. The individual lash are applied one by one to the lash line. Individual lashes can be applied to customise any look! I have to say one of my favourites are the Penny’s trio lashes. Just remember ladies, individual lashes will take a little longer to apply than strip lashes. It's not like those instagram videos you watch where you see on lash going on then viola the person opens their eyes and there is a perfect strip of individual lashes applied!

2. Strip Lashes:

Again these are applied to the lash line. But the sky is the limit with strip lashes. There are so many styles and quality of lashes from natural hair to silk lashes to choose from. I have jumped on the So Su bandwagon and purchased some of her range. I am curious to see if these will be some of the most requested strip lashes. The trick with strip lashes is to trim the lashes to the required length. Before you put glue on pop the lashes on top of your own lash line to see what the required length is. Then take the excess lash from the outer corner not the inner. I think this is where some girls go wrong. In fear of losing some of that volume they trim the inner corner which then can leave your lashes feeling very heavy.

*TIP* use the extra trimmed piece and layer this over the lashes at the outer edge to give some impact! Also do not trim while you have the lashes on your own lash line, take the lashes off and use a clean hygienic scissors.

Image Source: Ardell Wispies

Image Source: SOSU Lashes, Carla and Sara Lashes

3. Demi lashes:

I have to say I do really love these lashes. I stock model rock lashes. A beautiful friend and fellow MUA Gina English MUA put me onto these. What I like about these lashes is if you are not used to wearing false lashes and find you are a person who struggles with having the individuals applied these are great to give you that wow factor.

4. Glue:

I couldn’t write a piece and not discuss glue. I use duo glue to apply lashes. Half the battle with applying lashes is the quality of the glue you use. You can purchase this in a dark or white/clear glue. I personally use the white glue that dries clear.

Lastly ladies something I learned with studying to be a MUA is not all know how to remove your lashes. Often you can get a couple of wears out of a set of strip lashes with the correct care. I know we have all been there after a night out and think we are doing well if we swipe a face wipe somewhat over our face and squint while we yank our false eyelashes off! Firstly, soak a cotton pad or cotton swab with a non oil based eye makeup remover. Place this on your eye for a few moments to soften the glue and your lashes should slide off.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page