top of page
Featured Posts

Top Tips for Packing a Makeup Bag for a City Break

In January I spent a long weekend in Amsterdam. While there I posted a picture and some of you lovey followers are taking a trip there too soon. It got me thinking about travel, travelling with carry on luggage and what makeup to pack.

Last year I collaborated with The Littlest Polkadot on a blog post about travel and my 5 top products when doing a longer trip. So here are my top tips when taking a city break with carry in luggage.

1. Samples

We all have them. Those samples you've collect from magazines, picked up in pharmacies and are gathering dust in your bathroom. We all mean to try them but end up sitting there taking up space! Here is the perfect opportunity to use some of those samples from the moisturser to shampoo.

2. Multi use products

Have a look in your makeup bag and see if there any of your products you are considering taking away that could be used for multi purposes. Like can your bronzer be used as an eye shadow? I took my Pippa Palette with me on this weekend away. It is small and compact and I love the colours. There is a great range of eye shadow colours in there to create a simple day time look right through to a full on glam evening/night out look!

Image Source: Cloud 10 Beauty

3. Plan

Have a look at your outfits you are packing and this will guide your makeup looks. Maybe one neutral lip stick will see you through or you just need two. Your favourite nude and dark lip stick.

4. Brushes

Again no need to bring every brush sitting on your vanity table or brush roll. If you have planned your look sit will determine what brushes you need. I brought an eyeliner pen so already you have cut out some brushes. Brushes that are great to take away are the double ended brushes that come with eye makeup palettes. I packed the one that came with the Blank Canvas Master series palette, my F20 brush which I used for foundation and buffing in concealer, a powder brush to set my makeup and F04 for bronze, blush and highlight!

You only have carry on luggage and you want to take advantage of duty prices? Did you know you can you can purchase your items and collect them on your return when you land back in Dublin airport. I have done this a few times and it is such a great service although can often end in a much more expensive trip than I planned! So fear not you do not have to miss out on stocking up on your favorite perfume or beauty product!

So here is a peek at the products I took away with me. I has a few more sample Vichy moisturizers packed with me and my trusty Makeup Revolution lippie, which I can't find today! More than likely buried in the bottom of a handbag somewhere. I also packed a setting powder too but I am all out so need to go purchase some more!

Happy Travels!


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page