top of page
Featured Posts

Spray Tanning and Mature Skin

This piece I have to give credit to my mammy, who let's face should be given credit for a lot of things! Such as, constantly encouraging and believing in me with all my notions of study and gallivanting around the world over the years! My mother also has been a willing guinea pig for all things makeup and spray tan related for me and the application on mature skin. On a side note you can check out why I have a creative bone and see how talented she is with her bespoke and personalised cards, wedding invitations and wedding decor on Cards Bye Eilish.

Photography: Bronte Photography

Photo Credit: Bronte Photography


So after completing my spray tan course I arrived with excitement to have a go at spray tanning my mother and perplexed looks from my father! How we have moved on from the days of spraying Sally Hansen all over the house! After the spray tan she suggested I should write a piece for women who possibly have never had a spray tan, those going through the dreaded menopause, age spots and the women who are having a spray tan for the first time before a wedding and in particular their daughter or sons wedding.

So here's what I learnt, spray tanning my mother was very different! As much as I don't like to acknowledge it as I am beginning to get on myself, our skin changes through the decades! There is a difference to spray tanning a 20 year old to a 50 year old. So any brides to be out there who are thinking of having their mammy spray tanned please read this and pass the information on to your unsuspecting mammy. You don't want a streaky mother in your wedding day pictures! The key to a natural, beautiful spray tan for mature skin is skin preparation. What do I mean by skin preparation? The answer is simple and probably something all us Irish ladies are guilty of, and that is not keeping our skin hydrated and exfoliated.


So here are my top tips for mature skin and spray tans:


1. Exfoliate:


I cannot emphasis how important this is. Exfoliating the skin is going to allow for an even and flawless tan.

Ladies get yourself down to Penny's and buy a loofah or exfoliating mitt. You don't need to spend hours in the shower but just incorporate this into your routine during shower time. If you are stuck for time, how about splitting the body into two zones, one morning exfoliate the top half and the next day exfoliate the lower half.

I picked up these mitts in Penny's in Athlone on sale for 50 cent the other day! At that price you have no excuses!


Exfoliating mitt

The creator of Cocoa Brown Tan, Marissa Carter also recommends exfoliating with TOUGH STUFF 3 in 1 Body Scrub which is perfect for rough areas of the body,perfect for the feet, ankles, knees, elbows and hands.




2. Hydrate:


What I mean by this is ensure you drink enough water every day and moisturize your skin! So get sipping on some water ladies! And it's never too soon to start if you don't already.

After your shower apply moisturiser to your body ensuring you pay particular attention to the areas that tend to be most dehydrated such as elbows, feet/ankles and backs of your knees. Trust me ladies it only takes seconds after your shower and that feeling of silky smooth skin is worth it! As for what type of moisturser, find one that suits your skin it doesn't have to be the most expensive one on the market, but a particular favorite of mine are the body shop butter, the strawberry or the coconut!



3. Consultation:


All tanning clients must have a patch test done with me. Some people may be allergic or sensitive. The last thing that is needed is to have an allergic reaction before the wedding day. Also this allows us to have a chat about what your desired colour and look is you are hoping for. You can ask as many questions about the spray tanning process, what to expect and anything else that you may want to know. I stock the Cocoa Brown Professional Tan which has a light and dark range which can be left to develop over 1 -3 hours to achieve the golden glow you desire. I also recommend that you have a spray tan 2-3 weeks prior to the wedding day.



Lastly, why have a spray tan? Well ladies, a professional spray tan can help even out any imperfections and blotches and will give your skin a healthy glow. The right spray tan can accentuate your features and make you look slimmer. I freelance spray tanning which means I will come to your house for your spray tan. Why not have all your bridesmaids and mother at home and pop a bottle of processco, no having to try find parking near a salon and the mad dash from the salon to the car braless!


Keep an eye on my tanning tip Thursday for other little nuggets of tanning information.





Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page